Blog

Increasing the efficiency of helpdesk email processing

By 9. September 2021September 15th, 2021No Comments

In the fast-paced, fully digitized business era, it is becoming increasingly difficult for customer service to handle all customer issues in a timely manner. Currently, in particular, as an exponential increase in customer inquiries has been recorded during the Covid 19 pandemic.

When resolving service issues, live chat and email are the last resort for customers before attempting to speak directly with a customer service representative [1]. Nearly half of the customers (46%) expect their emails to be answered in less than 4 hours, but the average response time is more than 12 hours, but only 20% of companies are able to fully answer questions on the first response [2].

Modern tools help service representatives to respond to service requests in a well-informed and an efficient manner. Our smartCC product line provides proactive support for customer communication on all channels. In this article, we take a look at how smartCC supports service desk staff at handling requests that come in via email.

smartCC categorizes the analyzed emails, identifies the expressed issue, collects the information necessary to handle the case and prepares response emails.

Case study: IT Helpdesk

Let’s take a look at a concrete example from an IT helpdesk: Incoming emails are “read” by smartCC and combined with previous emails and conversations from other channels. Already in the overview, the service employee sees that the request is a “service request from a business customer” and its priority.

The figure on the left shows some aspects of the email contents’ analysis of performed by smartCC: the request has been recognized and automatically activated; the most important information is highlighted in the e-mail text and “Gabriel Keller” has been identified as the customer and his contact data is available.

Everything at a glance

For a more comprehensive picture, the InfoCenter is available to the service employee: in the background, smartCC searches the various company systems such as CRM, ERP, PIM, Wiki, etc. for relevant information on the case at hand, the customer, his products and previous issues, and compiles all the information related to the case in a clearly manner.

This way, one can quickly and easily recognize that the service request from “Mr. Keller” regarding his “Lenovo laptop” relates to the “Lenovo ThinkPad E15” which he purchased about a year ago. Operating manuals and FAQs for this laptop model and especially articles addressing audio problems have also been retrieved automatically.

1, 2, 3 … done!

Since smartCC knows the customer issues, processes and data, it can create a form for the current issue and autonomously enter all the information it knows. For this, smartCC uses the data extracted from the email as well as the information retrieved from the company systems, such as customer, purchased product including warranty details, and so on. The customer service representative can manually make changes or additions before the case data is saved or passed to APIs or backend systems (such as CRM, ticketing system, etc.).

Typing was yesterday

smartCC also assists in communicating with the customer by automatically generating a response email. This includes a summary of the reported information such as customer and product data as well as details about the service request and, if necessary, questions about missing information. Depending on the problem, the customer is also offered suggestions for solving the problem independently. The employee can make additions or adjustments and send the e-mail.

All in all, smartCC supports helpdesk staff in processing customer requests by taking over repetitive and time-consuming tasks such as gathering relevant information from various systems, filling in service forms, preparing responses to the customer or entering case data into various backend systems. Live access to all essential information from various sources speeds up the process of finding solutions and makes a significant contribution to meeting customers’ high expectations in terms of service quality and speed.

Want to know more?

    Email handling with smartCCSupport for other channelsAutomation







    [1] 2020 | CCW | Market Study | Customer Experience Trends, Challenges & Innovations
    [2] 2021 | SuperOffice | Customer Service Benchmark Report

    Blog posts

    Blog

    Increasing the efficiency of helpdesk email processing

    In the fast-paced, fully digitized business era, it is becoming increasingly difficult for customer service…
    Blog

    Explore research funding opportunities with sci-fund

    sci-fund has been designed to intelligently support researchers and research organizations, as well as research…
    Blog

    Video of our demo at SwissText 2020

    Watch the video of our demo on smartCC at this year's SwissText and KONVENS Joint…

Blog

Effizienzsteigerung bei der E-Mail-Verarbeitung im Helpdesk

By 9. September 2021September 15th, 2021No Comments

Im schnelllebigen, völlig digitalisierten Geschäftsumfeld wird es für den Kundendienst zunehmend schwierig, alle Kundenanliegen zeitnah zu bearbeiten. Aktuell im Besonderen, da während der Covid-19-Pandemie ein exponentieller Anstieg an Kundenanfragen verzeichnet wurde.

Bei der Lösung von Serviceproblemen sind Live Chat und Email der letzte Ausweg für Kunden, bevor sie versuchen, direkt mit einem Kundenbetreuer zu sprechen [1]. Etwa die Hälfte der Kunden (46%) erwartet, dass ihre E-Mails in weniger als 4 Stunden beantwortet werden, aber die durchschnittliche Antwortzeit beträgt mehr als 12 Stunden, und nur 20% der Unternehmen können Fragen bereits bei der ersten Antwort an den Kunden vollständig beantworten [2].

Moderne Tools helfen Service-Mitarbeitern dabei, auf Anfragen gut informiert und vor allem effizient zu antworten. Unsere Produktlinie smartCC bietet proaktive Unterstützung für die Kundenkommunikation auf allen Kanälen. In diesem Artikel wollen wir uns ansehen, wie smartCC Service-Desk-Mitarbeiter bei der Bearbeitung von Serviceanfragen unterstützt, die via E-Mail hereinkommen.

smartCC kategorisiert die analysierten E-Mails, identifziert das geäussterte Anliegen, sammelt die zur Bearbeitung des Falls notwendigen Informationen und bereitet Antwort-E-Mails vor.

Fallbeispiel: IT-Helpdesk

Sehen wir uns ein konkretes Beispiel von einem IT-Helpdesk an: Eingehende E-Mails werden von smartCC «gelesen» und mit vorangegangenen E-Mails und Konversationen aus anderen Kanälen kombiniert. Bereits in der Übersicht sieht der Service-Mitarbeiter, dass es sich um das Anliegen «Service-Anfrage eines Businesskunden» handelt und dessen Priorität.

Die Abbildung links zeigt einige Aspekte der inhaltlichen Analyse der E-Mail durch smartCC: das Anliegen wurde erkannt und automatisch aktiviert; die wichtigsten Informationen sind im E-Mail-Text hervorgehoben und als Kunde wurde «Gabriel Keller» identifiziert und seine Kontaktdaten sind verfügbar.

Alles im Blick

Für ein umfassenderes Bild steht dem Service-Mitarbeiter das InfoCenter zur Verfügung: smartCC durchsucht in Hintergrund die verschiedenen Unternehmenssysteme wie CRM, ERP, PIM, Wiki etc. nach relevanten Informationen zum vorliegenden Fall, zum Kunden, seinen Produkten und vorangegangenen Anliegen und stellt alle den Fall betreffenden Informationen übersichtlich zusammen.

Somit kann schnell und einfach erkannt werden, dass sich die Serviceanfrage von «Herrn Keller» bzgl. seines «Lenovo-Laptop», den er vor etwa einem Jahr gekauft hat, auf das «Lenovo ThinkPad E15» bezieht. Betriebsanleitungen und FAQs zu diesem Laptop-Modell und insbesondere Artikel, die Audioprobleme thematisieren, wurden ebenfalls automatisch bereitgestellt.

1, 2, 3 … erledigt!

Da smartCC die Kundenanliegen, Prozesse und Daten kennt, kann es ein Formular für das aktuelle Anliegen erstellen und selbstständig alle ihm bekannten Informationen darin eintragen. Dazu nutzt smartCC die aus der E-Mail extrahierten Daten sowie die aus den Unternehmenssystemen abgerufenen Informationen wie etwa Kunde, gekauftes Produkt samt Garantieanspruch usw. Der Kundendienst-Mitarbeiter kann manuell Änderungen oder Ergänzungen vornehmen, bevor die Falldaten gespeichert bzw. an APIs oder Backend-Systeme (wie CRM, Ticketing-System, etc.) weitergegeben werden.

Tippen war gestern

smartCC assistiert auch bei der Kommunikation mit dem Kunden, in dem es automatisch eine Antwort-E-Mail generiert. Darin enthalten ist eine Zusammenfassung der gemeldeten Informationen wie Kunden- und Produktdaten sowie Details zur Serviceanfrage und wenn nötig auch Fragen nach fehlenden Informationen. Je nach Problem werden dem Kunden darüber hinaus Vorschläge zur eigenständigen Lösung des Problems angeboten. Der Mitarbeiter kann Ergänzungen oder Anpassungen vornehmen und die E-Mail versenden.

Alles in allem unterstützt smartCC Helpdesk-Mitarbeiter bei der Bearbeitung von Kundenanfragen, indem es repetitive und zeitaufwändige Aufgaben übernimmt wie etwa das Zusammentragen relevanter Informationen aus verschiedenen Systemen, das Befüllen von Service-Formularen, das Vorbereiten von Antworten an den Kunden oder das Eintragen der Falldaten in diverse Backend-Systeme. Der Live-Zugriff auf alle wesentlichen Informationen aus verschiedenen Quellen beschleunigt die Lösungsfindung und trägt wesentlich dazu bei, die hohen Erwartungen der Kunden an Servicequalität und Geschwindigkeit zu erfüllen.

Möchten Sie mehr erfahren?

    E-Mail-Verarbeitung mit smartCCUnterstützung anderer KanäleAutomatisierung







    [1] 2020 | CCW | Market Study | Customer Experience Trends, Challenges & Innovations
    [2] 2021 | SuperOffice | Customer Service Benchmark Report

    Blog Beiträge

    Blog

    Effizienzsteigerung bei der E-Mail-Verarbeitung im Helpdesk

    Im schnelllebigen, völlig digitalisierten Geschäftsumfeld wird es für den Kundendienst zunehmend schwierig, alle Kundenanliegen zeitnah…
    Blog

    Forschungsförderungen erkunden mit sci-fund

    sci-fund wurde entwickelt, um Forscher und Forschungsorganisationen auf intelligente Art und Weise dabei zu unterstützen,…
    Blog

    Video unserer Demo an der SwissText 2020

    Schauen Sie sich das Video unserer Demo an der diesjährigen SwissText und KONVENS Joint Conference…